This site has not been optimised for Internet Explorer due to Microsoft no longer providing support for the browser. Please view this site using another browser such as Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge.
Te Pū rauemi KOWHEORI-19 COVID-19 resource hub

Support for people working in health during the COVID-19 pandemic. Find information about how you can support yourselves and others, including consumers, teams and colleagues which complements and aligns with Ministry of Health resources.

Kia āta kōwhiri Choosing Wisely

The Choosing Wisely campaign seeks to reduce harm from unnecessary and low-value tests and treatment.

Accessible version of consumer and whānau engagement quality and safety marker framework

This is an accessible version of the consumer and whānau engagement quality and safety marker framework. (You can also download the printable PDF or MS Word version.)

The framework is designed to help providers measure themselves on how they are progressing towards achieving the quality and safety marker according to its three domains:

  • Engagement: The environment created to support community engagement | Te tūhononga: Ko te taiao kua hangaia hei tautoko i te tūhononga hapori
  • Responsiveness: Responding to and acting on what consumers are saying about the service and having the right information at the right time for consumers accessing services | Te noho urupare: Ko te urupare, ko te mahi i ngā kōrero a ngā kiritaki mō te ratonga me te whai i te mōhiohio tika i te wā e tika ana mō ngā kiritaki e uru ana ki ngā ratonga
  • Experience: The systems in place to capture consumer experience, and act upon the results | Wheako: Ko ngā pūnahakua whakaritea hei mau i te wheako kiritaki me te whakatinana i ngā mahi i runga i ngā hua.

Each domain contains various aspects (listed below in the table of contents) against which providers can assess themselves to gauge how well they are implementing those aspects.

There are four ratings providers can give themselves for each domain aspect:

  1. Minimal | Te itinga iho (score 1)
  2. Consultation | Te akoako (score 2)
  3. Involvement | Te whai wāhi (score 3)
  4. Partnership and shared leadership | Te mahi tahi me te kaiārahitanga ngātahi (score 4)

To help you navigate this content, below is a table of contents, which lists the aspects of each domain. You can either click on the main domain heading to go to the page for that domain, or you can jump directly to the individual aspects of a domain by clicking on the relevant heading.

Each aspect includes links to parts of the code of expectations where relevant and links to supplementary information in relation to what success (scores of 4) in partnership and leadership looks like. 

Table of contents

Engagement | Te tūhononga

Responsiveness | Te noho urupare

Experience | Wheako

Return to the top of the page.

Published: 2 Nov 2023 Modified: 7 Nov 2023